The Conjoint Committee for the Recognition of Training in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (CCRTGE) is a national body comprising representatives from the Gastroenterological Society of Australia (GESA), the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP) and the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS).

The Committee has existed in its current form since 1990. Before that the GESA Endoscopy Sub-committee, formed in 1973, fulfilled a similar function.

The role of the Committee is to set the minimum standards for training in gastrointestinal endoscopy. Procedures currently assessed by the Committee are:-

  • Gastroscopy (adult and paediatric);
  • Colonoscopy (adult and paediatric);
  • Endoscopic Retrograde Cholangiopancreatography (ERCP);
  • Endoscopic Ultrasound (EUS) and
  • Capsule Endoscopy.

The Committee is made up of four physicians and four surgeons and is supported by a secretariat which resides within GESA.

To begin an online application for recognition of your training please read the Information for Applicants and complete and submit your registration details.

If you have any questions please check the FAQs first then contact us if you need further assistance.

If you require a copy of your CCRTGE certificate/s they are available in the “Documents” tab of your profile. If you require assistance in accessing your certificates please send a request via email to