About Us

Committee Role

The Conjoint Committee for the Recognition of Training in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (CCRTGE) is a national body comprising representatives from the Gastroenterological Society of Australia (GESA), the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP) and the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS).

The CCRTGE recognises the training of endoscopists who have completed their training in Australia or who are now practising in Australia.

  • Endoscopy training is assessed by the CCRTGE usually in the context of the Specialist Advanced Training Program of either the RACP or RACS.
  • Full recognition is dependent on the completion of training, experience and supervision pursuant to those training programs.
  • Recognition of satisfactory endoscopy training will only be given at the completion of specialist advanced training.
  • Trainees of other specialist medical colleges will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.
  • The CCRTGE recognises that some specialists and trainees will undergo, or have undergone, training that does not fit into the mainstream. The CCRTGE has established criteria to meet some of these situations. The criteria for each alternate entry pathway can be viewed here. Prospective applicants who believe they may be considered under one of these pathways should send an email containing details of their particular situation to the CCRTGE administration office. Applications are assessed during the ordinary meetings of the CCRTGE which are held twice a year.

Facilities for training in endoscopy should be available in major hospitals with exposure to endoscopic procedures being available to all gastroenterology and general surgery trainees.

Trainees are encouraged to attend relevant workshops to improve their skills in endoscopy.

Successful applicants are encouraged to maintain continuing medical education in the field of endoscopic practice including regular audits of their own endoscopic practice.

An updated list of all endoscopists whose training has been recognised is maintained by the Secretariat and is available to browse here.


Committee Members

Gastroenterological Society of Australia
Mr. Iain Skinner - Colorectal Surgeon
Dr. Sam O'Connor - Gastroenterologist

Royal Australasian College of Physicians
Dr. Looi Ee - Paediatric Gastroenterologist
Dr. Darren Pavey - Gastroenterologist (Chair-elect)
Dr. Andrew Lee - Gastroenterologist (rural/regional rep)

Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
Dr. Sulman Ahmed - General & Hepatobiliary Surgeon (Chair)
Dr. Daniel Croagh - Upper GI Surgeon
Dr. Melinda van Oosterum - Surgeon (rural/regional rep)

Previous Committee Members